Friday, November 2, 2012

Godspeed you! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! (2012)

I got this the day it came out but like always im a little slow on posting it up here. If you have not heard of GPYBE by now, its time to crawl out of the hole you live in. These guys gave post rock the push up the arse it needed to step outside the same same sound of extensive reverb guitars and expected percussion builds. 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! is the first release since their regrouping in 2010 after the band indefinitely broke up in 2003.  Bringing in the bands old trates of field recordings and  strings this new exciting treat is nothing but spellbinding. released as a 12" + 7" LP package, you find four tracks with two of which are 20 minute classically epic instrumental pieces and two that are more of a subdued soundscape characteristic. So if you are interested in having your ears opened up to a new sound check this out. 

1. Mladic
2. Their Helicopters' Sing
3. We Drift Like Worried Fire
4. Strung Like Lights At Thee Printemps Erable