Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Die Zorros - History Of Rock Vol. 7 (2003)

Die Zorros is a Swiss garage surf rock group featuring Voodoo Rhythm founder Reverend Beat Man who do amazing loose renditions of classic rock songs. History Of Rock Vol. 7 features covers of songs such as The Mamas And The Papas San Francisco, Led Zeppelin's Stairway To Heaven, and Europe's Final Countdown. The great thing is tho, is that there is either no lyrics or just one line repeated over and over again, maybe even just one word if your lucky. These guys released a new album this year which a gave a little listen to, but History Of Rock Vol. 7 has stayed on repete for some time now. Its lo-fi and simple as fuck but thats what makes me so happy with it. Good ideas done badly.

1. Der Lachende Sarg
2. Summertime
3. Blue Moon
4. Black
5. Der Euro Kommt
6. Ahhh
7. Brazil
8. Be Bob A Lula
9. Zorro Rettet Russland
10. Ti Amo
11. Massachusetts
12. Stairway To Heaven
13. San Francisco 
14. Blue Berry Blue
15. Zorro Thema
16. Final Countdown

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

At The Gates - Slaughter Of The Soul (1995)

In the Wake of seeing these guys for the first time since their regrouping after a 16 year break. I give you my favourite metal album to date. My cousin showed this to me when I was twelve years old have always listen to this album as a source of relief and inspiration. These guys are like the forefathers of swedish melodic death metal for fucks sake! Nothing gets better or more original then this. GO!

1. Blinded By Fear
2. Slaughter Of The Soul
3. Cold
4. Under A Serpent Sun
5. Into The Dead Sky
6. Suicide Nation
7. World Of lies
8. Unto Others
9. Nausea
10. Need
11. The Flames Of The End

Friday, November 2, 2012

Godspeed you! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! (2012)

I got this the day it came out but like always im a little slow on posting it up here. If you have not heard of GPYBE by now, its time to crawl out of the hole you live in. These guys gave post rock the push up the arse it needed to step outside the same same sound of extensive reverb guitars and expected percussion builds. 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! is the first release since their regrouping in 2010 after the band indefinitely broke up in 2003.  Bringing in the bands old trates of field recordings and  strings this new exciting treat is nothing but spellbinding. released as a 12" + 7" LP package, you find four tracks with two of which are 20 minute classically epic instrumental pieces and two that are more of a subdued soundscape characteristic. So if you are interested in having your ears opened up to a new sound check this out. 

1. Mladic
2. Their Helicopters' Sing
3. We Drift Like Worried Fire
4. Strung Like Lights At Thee Printemps Erable

The Secret - Agnus Dei (2012)

Total fucking violence is what i think when i heard the title track off the secret's new album. Hailing from Italy this quartet delivers nothing but fast paced blackened crustcore that packs a fucking punch. True, the online hype leading up to this album has been well executed with pretty much every review site and blogger streaming early released tracks and artwork. But since its release I am fucking blown away by the immense brutality of this album, and am really enjoying the more dynamic song writing compared to their last Southern Lord release Solve Et Coagula which i still listen to religiously. So check it out and keep an eye on these guys in future days to come. 

1. Agnus Dei
2. May God Damn All of Us
3. Violent Infection
4. Geometric Power
5. Post Mortem Nihil Est
6. Daily Lies
7. Love Your Enemy
8. Vermin of Dust
9. Darkness I Became
10. Heretic Temple
11. The Bottomless Pit
12. Obscure Dogma
13. Seven Billion Graves